Office of the Dean

The role of the Dean and the Dean’s Executive Team is to provide strategic leadership for the extensive educational and research activities within the Temerty Faculty of Medicine. They also support learners, graduates, faculty, staff and partners to be an unparalleled force for new knowledge, better health and equity.


dr. patricia houston

Patricia Houston, MD, MEd, FRCPC

Acting Dean, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
Vice Dean, Medical Education

Professor Patricia Houston assumed the role of Acting Dean as of July 1, 2021, while Dean Trevor Young is Acting Vice-President and Provost for the University of Toronto for a six-month term through to December 31, 2021.

Professor Houston will serve in this acting role during Professor Young’s acting term and subsequent three-month leave. Professor Houston was Vice Dean of the MD Program 2016-2020 before assuming an expanded role as Vice Dean, Medical Education with responsibility for the MD Program and MD/PhD Program with additional oversight of Postgraduate Medical Education and Continuing Professional Development programs.

A graduate of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto, where she also completed a Master's in Education at OISE, Dr. Houston has distinguished herself as a collaborative leader in health professional education. She has served in a number of leadership roles both at the University and at St. Michael’s Hospital, where she served as Vice President, Education. She was Vice Chair of Education in the Faculty of Medicine Department of Anesthesia from 2004 to 2011 and served as Acting Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education in 2012-2013. At St. Michael’s she has served as Medical Director, Perioperative Service Program and Anesthetist-in-Chief, among other roles.  In addition, she co-chaired the TAHSN Education Committee from 2011 to 2014.  

Dr. Houston joined the Department of Anesthesia at the Faculty of Medicine in 1984 as a Lecturer and was appointed full Professor in 2006. Throughout her career she has been recognized with numerous teaching and leadership awards. She is an active member of a number of international and national organizations and associations, including the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society, of which she was President from 2012 to 2014.  

Dean Trevor Young

Trevor Young, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FCAHS

Acting Vice-President and Provost,
University of Toronto

Dean Trevor Young is Acting Vice-President and Provost for the University of Toronto.

Prof. Young graduated from the medical school at the University of Manitoba in 1983. He completed his postgraduate training in psychiatry in 1987, and then his PhD at the Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto in 1995 and was a research fellow at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. He has been Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences at McMaster University; Professor and Head, Department of Psychiatry at the University of British Columbia; and Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto. He was also Physician-in-Chief, Executive Vice President Programs at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto. 

Prof. Young is a clinician-scientist who studies the molecular basis of bipolar disorder and its treatment. He has published more than 200 peer-reviewed journal articles and has held more than 35 peer-reviewed grants. Prof. Young and his lab focused on the processes that lead to long-term changes in brain structure and function in patients with bipolar disorder, and how mood-stabilizing drugs can alter those changes. Prof. Young has supervised more than 30 research and clinical trainees.

Prof. Young has received many awards including the 2015 Colvin Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Mood Disorders Research from the Brain and Behaviour Research Foundation, the Douglas Utting Award for outstanding contributions in the field of mood disorders, and the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology Heinz Lehmann Award. He has led several large clinical programs including the Mood Disorders Program at Hamilton Psychiatric Hospital, which received the American Psychiatric Services Gold Achievement Award. In 2009, he was made a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Since January 1, 2015, Prof. Young has been Dean of Canada’s largest Faculty of Medicine, with 9,662 faculty and staff members, as well as 7,719 students enrolled in undergraduate medicine, postgraduate medicine, radiation sciences, and professional and doctoral graduate programs. As Vice Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions, Dean Young oversees the University's relationship with nine fully affiliated hospitals and 20 community-affiliated hospitals and health facilities. The Faculty and its fully affiliated hospitals are also a thriving research enterprise — one of the largest in North America — and has attracted $895 million in research funding (2018-19). In 2020, the National Taiwan University Ranking placed U of T Medicine first in Canada and third in the world in medicine.