December 2018 CURRENT FACULTY OF MEDICINE EXTRA-DEPARTMENTAL UNITS (EDUs)

EDU A	Established	In Partnership with
Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research (CCBR)	2003 as EDU-C Became an EDU-A 2010	
Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering (IBBME)	1962	Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (Lead) Faculty of Dentistry
EDU B		
Institute of Medical Science	1968	
Rehabilitation Sciences Institute	2015	
EDU C		
Banting and Best Diabetes Centre	1978	University Health Network (UHN)
Centre for Ambulatory Care Education	2009	Women's College Hospital (WCH)
Centre for Collaborative Drug Research	2013	Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
Centre for Faculty Development	2002	St. Michael's Hospital
Centre for Interprofessional Education	2009	All UofT Health Science Faculties and UHN
Centre for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (formerly Centre for Patient Safety)	2008	Sick Kids, Sunnybrook
Global Institute for Psychosocial, Palliative and End of Life Care	2014	UHN
Heart and Stroke/Richard Lewar Centre for Excellence in Cardiovascular Research	1998	UHN
Joannah and Brian Lawson Centre for Child Nutrition	2013	FoM Departments of Nutritional Sciences, Family & Community Medicine and Paediatrics
McLaughlin Centre	2000	Sinai Health System (SHS), Sick Kids, Sunnybrook, UHN, WCH
Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases	1990	UHN
Transplantation Institute	2008	UHN
Wilson Centre for Research in Education	1997	UHN

EXTRA-DEPARTMENTAL UNITS: CHANGES SINCE LAST EXTERNAL REVIEW

EDU Name	Туре	Established	Disestablished/ Moved	Notes
Centre for Forensic Science and Medicine	С	2008	2015	The CFSM was created to be the main academic platform for education and research activities in forensic science and forensic medicine at UofT. After successfully developing its academic and research platforms it was integrated into the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP), and the EDU was disestablished.
Centre for Integrative Medicine	C	2014	2018	This EDU was closed after four years primarily because the leadership and priorities of all the founding partners (FoM, Faculty of Pharmacy, Scarborough Hospital) had changed significantly.
Dalla Lana School of Public Health (DLSPH)	A	2008	2013	The former department of Public Health became an EDU-A in 2008 while still a unit in the FoM. It became a separate Faculty in 2013.
Fraser Mustard Institute for Human Development	С	2011	2017	This EDU was moved to OISE (the Faculty of Education) as the lead Faculty for better academic alignment.
Institute for Global Health Equity and Innovation	С	2012	2013	This EDU was moved to the DLSPH when it became a separate Faculty.
Institute for Health Policy, Management and Evaluation	A	2011	2014	Like the DLSPH, HPME was originally a department within the FoM. After becoming an EDU-A in 2011 it was transferred to the DLSPH in 2014.
Institute for Life Course and Aging	С	1996	2015	This EDU was moved to the Faculty of Social Work as the lead Faculty for better academic alignment.
Joint Centre for Bioethics	C	1995	2015	The JCB was transferred to the DLSPH in 2015 due to its strong academic relationship with the DLSPH and IHPME.
Toronto Musculoskeletal Centre	С	2010	2015	The Centre was successful in advancing its education agenda with the formation of the Collaborative Graduate Program in Musculoskeletal Sciences. As a result the partners (FoM, Sunnybrook, SHS) agreed to close the EDU-C in 2015.